Jefferson County School District

General Information: Jefferson County School District, provides public education services from pre-kindergarten through twelfth grade, as well as various community education programs. Jeffco Public Schools has been providing educational excellence for almost 70 years. Approximately 9% of all the K-12 students in Colorado attend a Jeffco School. The District is comprised of 85 elementary schools, 5 K-8 schools, 17 middle schools, 17 high schools, 12 alternative schools, 15 charter schools and 4 other schools.
District Oversight: The Jefferson County Board of Education is the policy-making body of the school district. Its powers and duties are set by state law. The Board is responsible for educational planning and evaluation, staffing and appraisal, school facilities, financial resources and communication. The Board acts as a court of appeal for staff members, students and the public on issues involving board policy or implementation of that policy.

The Board is composed of five members elected to alternating four-year terms. Elections are held every two years. Board members are elected at large, but represent a specific area of the county - their representative district. Board members are not paid; they give freely of their time to serve the community. After each School Board election, the Board chooses its officers for the next two years. If a vacancy occurs, the Board names an appointee to serve until the next election.
Property Tax Usage: Property taxes collected by the District are used to fund the general operations of the District. Approximately half of the $800+ million in revenue funding the District's general operations comes from property taxes.
External Website: Click  HERE to open the Jefferson County School District website.
Return to main property tax page.