Jefferson County

General Information: The County’s boundaries encompass approximately 774 square miles of land and, per 2018 estimates, the County has a population of nearly 580,000 residents. Approximately 200,000 residents live in unincorporated Jefferson County and, the remaining 380,000 residents live within the twelve cities and towns located wholly or partially within the County (i.e. Arvada*, Bow Mar, Edgewater, Golden, Lakeside, Lakewood, Littleton*, Morrison, Mountain View, Superior*, Westminster* and Wheat Ridge)

*--Cities are partially located within both Jefferson County and other bordering counties
District Oversight: The three-member Board of Commissioners (elected by county residents and property owners) meets weekly to review and approve County operations and finances.
Property Tax Usage: Property taxes collected by the County are used to fund the various departments of and services provided by the County including but not limited to (1) Sheriff’s Department, (2) District Attorney’s office, (3) Office of the Clerk & Recorder, (4) Assessor’s Department, (5) Corner’s Department, (6) Treasurer’s Department, (7) Board of County Commissioners, (8) conservation of natural resources, (9) social services and (10) maintenance and construction of county-owned roads and bridges.  Approximately 50% of the County’s operations are funded from property taxes.
External Website: Click  HERE to open the Jefferson County website.
Return to main property tax page.